Welcome

My name is Joe and at the ripe old age of 82 my daughter has talked me into starting a blog.  The first thing I asked her was, “what on earth is a blog”. Now that she has carefully explained it to me I believe I am ready.

I have been married for 52 years to the love of my life, Janet and gratefully raised only daughters.  I have been a butcher from as far back as I can remember and since the age of 20 have owned and operated over 5 stores in the NY area.  Since my “retirement” I taught at the CIA (The Culinary Institute), Johnson and Wales and the NY Cooking school. For the past 3 years I have been living in Al near one of my daughters and her family.  I spend my days shopping, cooking, shopping, cooking oh and yes riding my motorcycle that I purchased when I turned 80.

Since I have decided to do a blog, I plan on teaching about how to shop for meat, cutting, cooking and sharing personal lessons I learned in life.  I welcome questions and comments.  Hopefully you will find this fun and entertaining and even learn some new tricks.  This is not only for others to read but for my family, a piece of me, my life, and my art.  So with that welcome to “The Gourmet Butchers Blog”

  1. #1 by Kurt on January 14, 2010 - 9:24 am

    Hi Joe,
    Good now I have someone I can ask who may actually answer my questions. Any chance of you coming to Bangkok for a visit and maybe to show some of the butchers here how to do a proper tear down.
    KK

  2. #2 by Lauren Shaffrey on January 14, 2010 - 1:37 pm

    Joe,
    Looking forward to reading your blog! This should be a neat “teaching-tool” for those of us that really don’t know what we are doing in the kitchen (and grocery store for that matter).

  3. #3 by Lisa on January 16, 2010 - 5:05 am

    I can’t wait to see what masterpiece you cook up !
    Looking forward to great beginnings !!!

    You go for it !

  4. #4 by June Powers aka June Cleaver on January 19, 2010 - 12:38 am

    Hi Joe,
    So happy and proud of you for sharing your lifetime of experiences with the public. I look forward to learning a thing or two from the expert that you are. Love to you, Janet and my darling Jennifer.

Leave a comment